Meet our team

Arron website

Arron Perriam

Executive Director

Arron’s experience spans the NZ charity, philanthropy and commercial sectors over the past 30 years. He holds a number of governance roles, all of which contribute to the wellbeing of everyday kiwis, including currently sitting as an independent Board member with The Salvation Army of NZ, Fiji, Samoa and Tonga.

Proud of his Rongowhakaata descent, Arron joined Community Foundations of NZ from his most recent role as CEO of Cholmondeley Children’s Centre in Canterbury. He is based in Christchurch, is a keen trail runner, a musician and is a very proud koro/grandfather to his 4 mokopuna.

“At CFNZ we are all about purposeful partnerships that together bring influence, grow generosity, and help shape the future of NZ communities. This is where my passion resides, and I’m proud to be serving the wellbeing of Aotearoa NZ through the successful growth and strategic focus of our collective regional endowment funding. In partnership with generous locals we can together grow strategic and impactful funding in communities. Ngā mihi."

CFNZ Eleanor Cater

Eleanor Cater

Marketing and Membership Services Director

With a background of 25 years in marketing and communications, Eleanor has spent most of this time working for purpose and impact, marketing for causes, national charity fundraising and is a grant-maker on two local boards in her home city of Porirua.

Eleanor believes in the strength of local communities and sees huge potential in local people being changemakers. "Our communities across Aotearoa NZ need the means to drive their own future. Our mahi helps to empower generous, insightful people to build permanent funds that will make an impact and provide for future generations. Community Foundations are encouraging generosity and strengthening our communities and I’m honoured to be a part of the great work and passion that is happening across the country. Ka pai rā tēnei mahi.”

CFNZ Raymond Key

Raymond Key

Board Chair

Ray brings strong commercial and governance skills to the board from his background in the global commodities market, with 20 years’ experience in building and leading successful global businesses. This includes a track record of building partnerships and alliances, both internally and externally.

Ray has a strong desire to help improve our community outcomes across New Zealand. He is based in Queenstown and chairs the Wakatipu Community Foundation and is also involved in a wide range of local community not-for-profit organisations including the Queenstown Community Hub Charitable Trust, Queenstown Lakes Community Housing Trust and Queenstown Alpine Ski Team.

CFNZ Bill Holland

Bill Holland MNZM

Deputy Chair

Bill helped establish the Acorn Foundation in 2003 and Chaired the Foundation for its first eight years. When the Community Foundations of New Zealand was established he was elected Chair from 2013-2016.

Bill is a lawyer with Holland Beckett Lawyers in Tauranga. He has extensive experience in a wide range of community organisations and activities, and is currently the Chair of the Tauranga Energy Consumer Trust. Bill has received a number of community leadership awards and in 2012 was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to the community.

CFNZ Lori Luke

Lori Luke


Lori moved to New Zealand from the US in 2009 and has recently become a dual citizen. She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts from Stanford University, majoring in Economics and German Studies, and has a strong background in Marketing for large corporations in the US.

Lori is CEO at Acorn Foundation, a Board Member for the Live for More Charitable Trust and is on the organising committee of TEDx Tauranga. She is well entrenched in the Tauranga community and is excited to be working alongside both donors and organisations alike to build a healthy and vibrant community.

CFNZ Chris Milne

Chris Milne


Chris is a Trustee with Nikau Foundation, the Wellington region’s Community Foundation. He has had roles in banking and finance in NZ, Europe & North America. Chris now works with a number of early-stage technology businesses, has recently retired after five years as Chair of Technology Valley Inc, and is a director of some trading businesses.

Chris is a Trustee of Nga Manu Nature Reserve and has been a Hutt City Councillor since 2004.

CFNZ Holly Snape

Holly Snape


Holly has been active in the community and social service sector for over 15 years. She has worked in grassroots community organisations in the Waikato region and is currently the Chief Executive of Community Waikato (a capacity building organisation for the not-for-profit sector). She has extensive experience in governance and is presently a board member of 4 community organisations, including a Trustee with Momentum Waikato Community Foundation.

Holly has a great passion for people, animals and social justice. She believes that community wellbeing is enhanced by a collective response to social, cultural economic and environmental needs. Holly says, ‘’being informed about what is impacting our community enables us to apply creative solutions to local problems’’.

CFNZ Gabrielle Sturrock

Gabrielle Sturrock


Gabrielle is Development Manager at Massey University’s College of Creative Arts. Prior to that she was the Senior Development Manager at The London Community Foundation UK, where she focused on family philanthropy and developing place-based corporate social responsibility initiatives, in various roles over the past decade.

Gabrielle is passionate about the benefits and joys of philanthropy, and the impact that Community Foundations can have. She now lives in Wellington with her husband and three young children.

Nick Thompson web

Nick Thompson (PhD)


As an experienced marketer with a PhD in branding, Nick has a career focused on strengthening brands through effective communication. Having previously worked with a number of national brands, Nick currently leads the marketing and communications team at Physiotherapy New Zealand.

Nick is most passionate about building brands that strive to do good for their communities. He lives in Wellington with his wife and three small boys, who he says keep everyday exciting and are a reminder to work towards a better future for all of Aotearoa.

CFNZ Colin Christie

Colin Christie

Financial Advisor

Colin is a chartered accountant and was a partner of BDO Gisborne until his retirement, including being Managing Partner for a number of years. He was also a member of the BDO National Management Board, also serving as Chairman of BDO New Zealand. Throughout his career Colin has carried out a significant amount of investment advisory work, including establishing an Investment Advisory Service in Gisborne.

As an accountant, Colin has strong financial skills and has acted as an advisor to several large local charitable Trusts. He helped establish the Sunrise Foundation in Gisborne in 2013, and has been a Trustee since its inception, currently serving as Deputy Chair and Chair of their Investment Committee and Grants Committee. Colin is also a past Trustee with Community Foundations of NZ.